brood [video]

I enjoy watching YouTube videos where people review cameras and similar consumer products. I decided I should do occasional videos where I review words. I asked people on Twitter for some suggestions. The first one came from Ann Marie Gamble, who suggested “‘brooding’ as a mood, not a thing a chicken does.” I decided to trim that down to brood. Here it is:

I’ll probably try a few different approaches to these videos over time. We’ll see which comes off best.

20 responses to “brood [video]

  1. Love all the million books behind you!😀 I wish I owned so many!!!!!
    Also loved the video. I think you should definitely do more of these🙂 Cheers

  2. My coffee is ‘brewed’, and I await…more please! Love the combo of listening to Tennyson and getting a lesson in word origins. And oh, the books…

  3. Pingback: Friday Feed: this weeks fav’s from my WP feed. | Candace Vianna Writes

  4. Reblogged this on offbeat, on point and commented:
    “Brooding is the yeast in the bread of discontent.”

  5. This is a great and funny idea to review words and your video does not disappoint. I’m looking forward to more word reviews.

  6. This is great! I truly enjoyed it.🙂

  7. OH MY everything about this is amazing especially you. I love words. please keep doing this!! ❤️

  8. James. I just used the word ‘brood’ in a comment over at :

    and then found your top-post.

    I think you may like to lend some insight about word choice to help inform an eloquent WTF label for, not only the Trump crisis we’re all enduring, but these Reagan-era end-times (I hope) in general (?).

    • That’s a great little piece Margaret and Helen have there. My first thought for Trump is POS (piece of shit). You could argue it’s not one word, but it really is a lexical item, even if a compound one.

  9. This is great. I just happened to come across this. I love words. And a word review is a great idea. It’s gotta be fun though. And yours definitely was. You should make more of these.🙂

  10. Loved the video and your library (So many books) I feel that word review is a great concept🙂 Enjoyed your post!

  11. That looks great but there’s no sound😦

  12. This is a great idea! Nothing like taking in a word left behind and bringing it back to life.

  13. This is the best Idea. Much honor and thanks is owed to you. James, I messaged you on youtube. I await your response.

    • I don’t see the message on YouTube. You sent it as a private message?

      • Ah, maybe I sent it improperly. I was just asking if you would be offended if I too made a video about a word. I studied English at UC Berkeley, and have a love of words. Currently I’m holding an old dictionary of mine from 1854. Anyway, I think what you are doing is incredibly important. It almost makes me tear up. Which almost forces me to remove my fazzolet to wipe my eyes.

      • I wouldn’t be offended at all! Imitation is flattery, after all.😛 And if you do it really well, then I’ll just have to step up my game to keep up.

  14. Great concept! Keep them coming, words are so powerful.

  15. Pingback: Sweet or Dry? Fruity or Acidic? | living with linguaphilia

Leave a Reply

