Lamson Room: an epilogue

How did I have such detailed descriptions of the Lamson Room? I took pictures.

Why didn’t I include the pictures? Well, they weren’t that great. I took them with my iPhone.

But also, I was a bit embarrassed. In the picture were the Operation Instructions, but I found that when I enlarged them they were illegible. And I hadn’t stopped to read them in the actual room. In fact, I hadn’t stepped into the room.

Today the door was open again.

They had been drilling, I think; the floor had plaster dust on it. But they were on lunch break. So I stepped in a little, leaving prints in the dust. I had to hold the door open. But I leaned forward and got a photo of the instructions.

Lamson Room door
Lamson Room
Lamson Operating Instructions

Lamson made more than one kind of machine. They’re famous for their tubes, but this was something different. And in fact, I had been wondering. There were no actual tube ends to see. All behind the sliding doors?

No. This Lamson is a “selective vertical conveyor.”

In case you can’t read the instructions in the image, this is what they say:

SELECTIVE VERTICAL CONVEYOR

OPERATING INSTRUCTIONS

CAUTION MOVING MACHINERY BEYOND FIRE DOORS

KEEP HANDS CLEAR

LOAD CONTENTS ENTIRELY INSIDE THE CONTAINER

PLACE THE CONTAINER ON CONVEYOR LOAD PLATFORM

DIAL DESTINATION

PRESS DISPATCH BUTTON

DO NOT RE-DIAL AFTER PRESSING DISPATCH BUTTON

DO NOT REMOVE CONTAINER FROM INSIDE CONVEYOR OPENING AFTER PRESSING DISPATCH BUTTON

IF CONVEYOR MALFUNCTIONS CALL MAINTENANCE

LAMSON

SYRACUSE NY

So. I did not quite accurately convey the nature of the machine. I went down the tubes a bit. But I have now elevated your awareness.

This Lamson is, in fact, a kind of corporate dumbwaiter. Like a servant waiting in his room for you to call him: “Lamson! Take these documents up to the thirteenth floor!”

4 responses to “Lamson Room: an epilogue

  1. Pingback: Lamson | Sesquiotica

  2. A selective vertical conveyor, eh? Like the rapture?

  3. kinda spooky & mysterious, kinda like traveling back in time, could see a Twilight Zone episode featuring the Lamson…

  4. i installed the Lamson mail conveyors thru out the United States in the 80s. My base of operations was NYC some of the machines were 50+ stories. It was a very interesting machine and a rewarding experience to work on. I am a member of millwright local 740. And II know whats behind the Lamson door. Dan Walcott

Leave a Reply

