Jeggings

Taste is individual, and your results may vary, but for whatever reason, I find this word quite disgusting. Not because of what it names – leggings that look like skinny jeans, or pants made of a material that is a sort of stretchy denim so they’re like a cross between jeans and leggings (really not any worse than a sweatxedo and maybe even a bit better). No, there’s just something about how it sounds that makes it seem to me like a name for something really disgusting. You know, like clippings of dead skin from callused heels or similar foot boogers.

I’m sure that smegma has something to do with this. I can’t see how egging would make a difference. Jugs and jiggling would make this word more suitable for Hooters if they had much influence (maybe they do for some people). The medial /g/ as in booger might have some effect on the taste of the word. But I think there is also an effect from the pluralizing s (so there are lots of whatever it is) and the ing (which can mean a small derivative part and/or the product of a process). Think nail clippings and nose pickings and diggings.

Jeggings is a trademarked brand name, so I capitalize it – although it’s already being treated by many as a common noun for the type of thing, like Kleenex. That also means that the people who own the trademark might be ticked off if they find out I think it’s disgusting-sounding. To that I can only say that taste is individual, I’m not their target market anyway (and I’m not sure how many of my readers are either), and they didn’t have to choose a name that sounds kinda nasty to one or more persons. I mean, they could have called them Jeanings. That has the mark of genius and a genie (and the name Jean, which has positive associations for anyone who has ever known and liked a Jean). But perhaps they didn’t like the leanings of that word.

And perhaps the people in their target market just like Jeggings better. I don’t know. There are all sorts of wildly popular things that I have no taste for at all. On the other hand, there are quite a lot of things I like that I can’t really understand why more people don’t like. Phonaesthetics, for instance…

One response to “Jeggings

  1. Jegging – a verb. defined as ” the act of throwing eggs at joggers wearing jeans.”.😀

Leave a Reply

